Wine tasting, in Berkeley??

There are some secret spots in West Berkeley, hidden away but for those in the know, actively creating and purveying lovely wines from French, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian and California varietals. Setting out one day to explore these urban wineries all clustered within walking distance of each other around 5th and Camelia Streets, I found outstanding wines, personal service, and extremely high standards and expertise among the makers. This is a highly recommended field trip for both locals and out-of-area visitors. Most tasting rooms are open weekends and have private tastings by appointment. 

Lusu Cellars, 805 Camelia Street, www.lusucellars.com

Whistler Vineyards, 805 Camelia Street, www.whistlervineyards.com

Donkey and Goat, 1340 5th Street, www.donkeyandgoat.com

Windchaser Wine Co., 1375 Fourth Street, www.windchaserwine.com

Broc Cellars, 1300 5th Street, www.broccellars.com

Covenant Wines, 1102 Sixth Street, www.covenantwines.com

Urbano Cellars, 2323 B Fourth Street, www.urbanocellars.com

 

 

 

 David Teixeira, host and owner of Lusu Cellars.

David Teixeira, host and owner of Lusu Cellars.

IMG_0357.jpg
IMG_0358.jpg
IMG_0359.jpg
IMG_0360.jpg
IMG_0362.jpg
Anne Culbertson